Mehwish Hayat, HSY, Faisal Kapadia make it to Oscar selection committee

Entertainment News

Actress Mehwish Hayat, fashion designer Hassan Sheheryar Yasin and musician Faisal Kapadia have been made part of the Pakistani Oscar selection committee for 2020.

The committee, officially called Pakistani Academy Selection Committee, has invited Pakistani filmmakers to submit their films for Oscar consideration in the ‘International Feature Film Award’ category for the 93rd Academy Awards by 20 October.

Being chaired by Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, the Oscar selection committee will choose one film for nomination to the international awards and announce its selection for Oscars consideration in November 2020.

Director Asad-ul-Haq, Filmmakers Maheen Zia and Hamza Bangash, Scriptwriter Bee Gul, Actor Syed Muhd Ahmed and filmmaker Asim Abbasi are also on the list of selection committee members.

Taking to Twitter Mehwish Hayat expressed her happiness with fans.

Punjab Nahi Jaungi star wrote: “I’m honoured to be part of the ‘Oscar Selection Committee’ this year alongside our own two-times Oscar winner, Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy.”

Mehwish said that she’s looking forward to seeing the nominated films they choose together, put forward.

“At least this is one way that we can be putting a positive image of our country and highlighting our talent on the world stage, InshaAllah!”

Many of her fans congratulated the actress for achieving a new badge in her career. Mehwish is already a recipient of Tamgha-e-Imtiaz, a national honor given to those who serve the country through exceptional services in their field.

Hassan Sheheryar Yasin, better known as HSY, also took to Instagram to announce the news with his fans and followers.

“Humbled and proud to be part of the Oscar committee for 2020,” HSY posted.

“The committee will be chaired by two-time Academy Award and Emmy winning documentary filmmaker Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy and includes film director Asad-ul-Haq, actor Mehwish Hayat and musician Faisal Kapadia.”

The Academy Awards, now officially known as The Oscars, are a set of awards given annually for excellence in cinematic achievements. The Oscar statuette is officially named the Academy Award of Merit and is one of nine types of Academy Awards. Organized and overseen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

This marks the eighth consecutive submission by the Pakistani Academy Selection Committee having previously submitted Zinda Bhaag in 2013, Dukhtar in 2014, MOOR in 2015, Mah-e-Mir in 2016, Saawan in 2017, Cake in 2018 and Lal Kabootar in 2019 to represent the best of Pakistani cinema for award consideration in the ‘International Feature Film’ category.

As per Oscar’s policy, a film nominated or recommended by a country must be first released in that country no earlier than October 1, 2019, and no later than December 31, 2020, and be first publicly exhibited for at least seven consecutive days in a commercial motion picture theater for the profit of the producer and exhibitor.

Leave a Reply